• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

Tutorial on 3-style

Clément B.

WCA
2018BURG13
Hey guys !

I've been doing 3BLD for two months now, and I average around 2 minutes with M2/OP.
I heard about the 3-style method and I was wondering if any of you guys knew a great yet easy tutorial.
Apparently it is for the corners, but does it work for the edges too ? If not, what would you guys recommand me for the edges to be even faster ?

Thanks !

Dylan Swarts

WCA
2017SWAR03
YouTube
Visit Channel
3- style is very complicated and for the best buffer you'd have to use UFR. I'd suggest switching to Orozco first, which uses UFR as it's buffer, (there is a tutorial here on speedsolving) and from there on you can learn 3-style. It is an edge method too.

GenTheSnail

WCA
2016GEEN01
YouTube
Visit Channel
3 style is an advanced, and perhaps to some people very complicated, method for solving both the corners and the edges of a rubik's cube. It can also be applied to big cube centers.
The basis of it is commutators, algorithms in the form of (A B A' B') where (A) is a sequence of moves (B) is an interchange move or moves, and (') is the reverse of those moves.

For example, (R U R' U') (D') (U R U' R') (D)

(R U R' U') is a series of moves that does something, (D') is an interchange move that only interacts with one of the pieces affected by that series of moves, (U R U' R') is the inverse of those moves, and (D) is the inverse of the interchange move.